President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by Admin on Thu Oct 08, 2015 8:09 pm

and its nearly my bedtime. Okay I should be able to see a few holes tonight but then its snooze time.

Hopeful for a good PHIL round.

Admin
Admin

Posts : 1477
Join date : 2014-10-16

View user profile http://phil.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by CoJack on Thu Oct 08, 2015 9:37 pm

Admin wrote:and its nearly my bedtime. Okay I should be able to see a few holes tonight but then its snooze time.

Hopeful for a good PHIL round.

Living on the west coast, I will get to watch Phil's entire round.

CoJack

Posts : 135
Join date : 2014-10-29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by j58golf on Thu Oct 08, 2015 10:06 pm

I'm east coast and tired but gonna make it
.Rickie and Jimmy got easy draw. Phil has toughest match with Day. Can't believe he got him again

j58golf

Posts : 1731
Join date : 2014-10-18

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by bulls9999 on Thu Oct 08, 2015 10:51 pm

Phil not making any putts. Day making them. Rickie making EVERYTHING, AWESOME PUTTING DISPLAY.
avatar
bulls9999

Posts : 1305
Join date : 2015-01-14
Location : Oklahoma

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by bulls9999 on Thu Oct 08, 2015 11:09 pm

Phil !! Really? Get a penalty that takes you out of play on a par-5 leaving Zack to play alone... A rookie mistake....penalty for playing a different type/style of ball than what he started with? Why would you even have more than one type in your bag? Golly, hope it doesn't lose a hole because of that.
avatar
bulls9999

Posts : 1305
Join date : 2015-01-14
Location : Oklahoma

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by CoJack on Thu Oct 08, 2015 11:13 pm

Phil is having a nightmare of a round. He can't buy a putt and then that stupid penalty. Haas did not look happy.

CoJack

Posts : 135
Join date : 2014-10-29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by j58golf on Thu Oct 08, 2015 11:13 pm

PHIL CALLS PENALTY ON HIMSELF. PLUS PUTTS AREN'T FALLING. Hope this spurs on some good play. 1 DOWN THIS STINKS!!!!

j58golf

Posts : 1731
Join date : 2014-10-18

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by j58golf on Thu Oct 08, 2015 11:15 pm

I blame Bones he sets UP THE BAG

j58golf

Posts : 1731
Join date : 2014-10-18

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by CoJack on Thu Oct 08, 2015 11:24 pm

Phil's screw-up really screwed the match, down 2, not one.

CoJack

Posts : 135
Join date : 2014-10-29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by bulls9999 on Thu Oct 08, 2015 11:27 pm

Wow, Phil... you double whammied you're team. I don't understand how he doesn't know this rule. I even would ask our PGA guy during our MGA tournaments, "when you say we are playing by USGA rules, are we playing the 1-ball type?, which is a USGA requirement (i.e., you can't mix ProV1 and ProV1x balls if you are), and get an answer either yes or no. But for sure in that level tournament, the rule must be there....so how does Phil say he never heard of that? I don't get it. Am I missing something?
avatar
bulls9999

Posts : 1305
Join date : 2015-01-14
Location : Oklahoma

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by gophil36 on Thu Oct 08, 2015 11:46 pm

They told Phil that he was out of the hole and that was incorrect. So how could they penalize him again for picking up his ball?

gophil36

Posts : 803
Join date : 2014-10-17

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by CoJack on Thu Oct 08, 2015 11:49 pm

gophil36 wrote:They told Phil that he was out of the hole and that was incorrect. So how could they penalize him again for picking up his ball?

Doesn't matter, Phil should of never put himself in that position.

CoJack

Posts : 135
Join date : 2014-10-29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by CoJack on Thu Oct 08, 2015 11:50 pm

Hopefully Phil will be motivated and play a great back 9. Only one down.

CoJack

Posts : 135
Join date : 2014-10-29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by gophil36 on Thu Oct 08, 2015 11:52 pm

I know but i thought the word of the walking rulrs official was official.

gophil36

Posts : 803
Join date : 2014-10-17

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by gophil36 on Thu Oct 08, 2015 11:53 pm

It was a double hole penalty for picking up his ball.


Last edited by gophil36 on Fri Oct 09, 2015 3:08 pm; edited 1 time in total

gophil36

Posts : 803
Join date : 2014-10-17

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by CoJack on Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:26 am

Phil makes a 19 foot putt to tie it up.

CoJack

Posts : 135
Join date : 2014-10-29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by CoJack on Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:37 am

Holy crap, Phil holes it in from the bunker from 138 yards out and gets the team up one.

CoJack

Posts : 135
Join date : 2014-10-29

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by gophil36 on Fri Oct 09, 2015 12:41 am

Phil sinks another one from the sand!

gophil36

Posts : 803
Join date : 2014-10-17

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by gophil36 on Fri Oct 09, 2015 3:04 am

Not sure if you read my posted link from the day 1 posts. Its the last post there.

gophil36

Posts : 803
Join date : 2014-10-17

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by bulls9999 on Fri Oct 09, 2015 9:16 am

Phil Phil Phil....you guys would have won if not for the penalty!!! What the heck was he thinking? And I'm not sure of the accuracy of the statement: "The one-ball rule is not used in foursomes play at the Ryder Cup in the United States or the PGA Championship, which are both run by the PGA of America." ... is that true (for the PGA Championship)? I've always played our MGA tournaments (by USGA Rules) going by the one-ball rule (I always thought that was a way for the pro shop to sell more balls to insure people have more of the 'same type' of ball instead of using the mixture you usually have in your bag, lol).
avatar
bulls9999

Posts : 1305
Join date : 2015-01-14
Location : Oklahoma

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by gregoryc on Fri Oct 09, 2015 9:28 am

bulls9999 wrote:Wow, Phil... you double whammied you're team.  I don't understand how he doesn't know this rule.  I even would ask our PGA guy during our MGA tournaments, "when you say we are playing by USGA rules, are we playing the 1-ball type?, which is a USGA requirement (i.e., you can't mix ProV1 and ProV1x balls if you are), and get an answer either yes or no.  But for sure in that level tournament, the rule must be there....so how does Phil say he never heard of that?  I don't get it. Am I missing something?

The one-ball rule is not in effect for the first day of the tournament (foursomes), but is for subsequent days. Phil knows the rule, I'm sure, but did make a mistake thinking it was not in effect for the whole tournament. A dumb mistake, but not quite as dumb as it first appears. Additionally, picking up and not finishing the hole was 100% the committee and walking rules officials fault. This part is inexcusable. It took me one or two minutes to look up, read, and digest the rule. The whole thing is explained in the committee's report at the link below. Very unfortunate, but at least they came away with a half.

https://twitter.com/dougferguson405/status/652355821859422208

gregoryc

Posts : 46
Join date : 2015-01-25
Location : Norman, Oklahoma

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by gregoryc on Fri Oct 09, 2015 9:38 am

Three separate interviews here: http://www.asapsports.com/show_event.php?category=4&date=2015-10-9&title=THE+PRESIDENTS+CUP

Some gems. Phil is such a great interview.

PHIL MICKELSON: Zach and I had a very uneventful day. We talked away with a tie. (Laughter).
...
Didn't really think much about it. We've never had a one-ball rule that I can think of in these events, or at least that I was aware of. But it's never been an issue, either.
...
It's the job of the player to know the rules, and it's not the committee's fault.
...
Q. Do you feel like you cost your team half a point?
PHIL MICKELSON: I feel like we spotted the Internationals's best team two holes and they still couldn't beat us. Just saying.
...
Q. Is that fourball or foursomes? We don't really know.
PHIL MICKELSON: I thought it was fourball because I thought they were going to continue foursomes, fourball, foursomes, fourball. But I don't know. I guess I should probably always double-check those things (laughter).
...
See, The PGA of America doesn't have a one-ball rule. You can play 18 different balls, brands, whatever, on 18 different holes during the PGA Championship and The Ryder Cup. So this threw me for a loop that we have a one-ball rule that we've never really had and I didn't think much about it. But it's my responsibility to know that. I should have at least asked about before I teed off. It just had never been a thought for me but as a player, that's your job to know that.

gregoryc

Posts : 46
Join date : 2015-01-25
Location : Norman, Oklahoma

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by bulls9999 on Fri Oct 09, 2015 9:51 am

And I can't believe both Zack and Phil couldn't chip the ball any closer than they had on that short par-4 where they were laying on the run out of the fairway in front of the green....geesh guys, that was an ugly hole for almost everyone and seemed to me half of those that screwed it up could have had a better chance at birdie if they treated it as a 2-shot green, a drive and 2nd shot a short chip to get close to the hole..
avatar
bulls9999

Posts : 1305
Join date : 2015-01-14
Location : Oklahoma

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by Admin on Fri Oct 09, 2015 9:52 am

PHIL got the shaft today!!! lots of great play from him and Zack. Should have got a point but oops the referee missed the call.

Admin
Admin

Posts : 1477
Join date : 2014-10-16

View user profile http://phil.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by bulls9999 on Fri Oct 09, 2015 10:08 am

And Phil is getting sat out for the next round?.... what?....they did well to battle back from down-2 deficit.

Bill Haas is going back in after that poor putting performance?....he didn't make a putt all day, at least not one over 3 feet!!

http://www.presidentscup.com/livescoring.html


avatar
bulls9999

Posts : 1305
Join date : 2015-01-14
Location : Oklahoma

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: President's Cup 2nd Day matches

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum